The town is dominated by the cathedral next to the Frankopan Castle, which was first mentioned in written documents in 1186. The cathedral was dedicated to the Assumption of Virgin Mary, and its extensions added throughout many centuries have combined various styles – Romanic, gothic, renaissance and baroque.
The cathedral contains Matser Koler’s silver altarpiece, donated to the church by Ivan Frankopan in 1477, while the unique early-Romanic Church of St. Quirin, the town’s guardian, leans on the cathedral. The church is made of local white stone, and is unique for being erected on two levels. An interesting fact mentioned in written documents is that convicts from the nearby courtroom came to attend Mass on the ground floor of the church. The complex also contains a museum of sacral art with very interesting exhibits of great historical value.